Wikimania Hackathon 2023

I promise to keep this one short :)

Ok let me give you a brief intro about Wikimania. Wikimania is an annual conference for the Wikimedia community. It is a 5-day event, where Wikimedians (I’m not sure if they even call this) from all over the world come together to discuss about the future of Wikimedia projects, and also to have fun.

And so to make it more fun, they organize a hackathon every year, physically and virtually. To know more about this visit here

My Experience

Anyways this year the it was on August 15-19 2023. And since both my mentors were taking part in this, I thought I should also give it a go (although they visited physically, and I was virtually present).

My Contributions

Instead of working something already in progress, We decided to work on something new. We proposed the idea of ToolWatch, a tool to check the health status on all the Wikimedia tools hosted on Cloud VPS, and show it on a dashboard.

More on it here

Anyways to give you a brief intro, here’s what we did. We built a simple dashboard using Flask(Python) server and Jinja template, which pings all the tools periodically (on their apis) and shows the status on our dashboard.

Check out the official repo here

Conclusion

See told you I’ll keep it short :)

Although I couldn’t go to Singapore (yeah thats where it was held this year), I had a lot of fun contributing to it virtually. I got to learn, contribute, and had fun.

I’m really looking forward to the next one, and hopefully I’ll try to go physically to the next Hackathon :-)